Accredited by the National Association for the Education of Young Children

Board of Directors, 2019-2020

Board Chair:

Joen Garnica, President, Garnica Interiors


Robyn Gordon-Peterson, Chief Operations Officer, Long Beach Transit (Retired)

1st Vice Chair: (Governance)

Debbie Thorpe, Realtor, Coldwell Banker Coastal Alliance

2nd Vice Chair: (Development)

Michele Dobson, Attorney, Law Offices of Michele A. Dobson

Recording Secretary:

Nancy Hays, MPH CHC Compliance Officer, Kaiser Permanente


Brett Bradbury, CPA CFE Supervisor, Onisko & Sholz

Board Members:

Gina Ballard, Principal, Holthouse, Carlin & Van Trigt, LLP
Pat Ellington, Travel Consultant, Incredible Journey Travel
Steve Hockett, GM, Private Golf Clubs
Kevin Kelly, Principal, Seaward Road
Megan King, Communications Manager, Long Beach City Auditor’s Office
Jillian Koehring, Development Events Manager, Aquarium of the Pacific
Kevin Lee, Public Affairs Officer, Long Beach Manager’s Office
Ann Mantel, Teacher, Special Education
Mike Murray, Consultant, Educare
Laurie Shaw, Adminstrator, LBUSD Child Development Centers (Retired)
Daniel Tapia, Co-Owner, Pigburd Restaurant
Nelinia Varenas, CEO, Breakthrough SEO Marketing